The Pain to Change…

A former mentor of mine, Ed Foreman, once taught me that we change when the pain to change is less than the pain to remain the same.  I have thought of this quote often and, currently, I am at that tipping point.   Missing out on being the mother & wife that I envision in my head is far more painful than eating right and exercising more.

So, here I am.  I am a few years shy of my 30th birthday.  My cholesterol and blood pressure are medically unremarkable as are my sugar levels (Thank God).   I am roughly 70 pounds away from my personal goal weight (A few years ago, I would have had to confess to being 115 pounds away.  Thankfully, through a lot of hard work, I lost 75 pounds before gaining a bit during pregnancy).  I am getting back into exercise after a year long hiatus.  Like most new mothers, I struggle to balance my personal time, motherhood and sleep.

Why this blog?  A little over a year ago my hubby, then 3 week old son and I moved half way across the country to a place where we had no friends, no family… just a job.  As a result, my support network in real life consists of only my husband.  I am starting my journey here, online, because I need to connect with others.  I need to share my ups, downs, plateaus, setbacks and successes.

Why now?  On November 25th, 2012, I started my countdown.  The goal: 248 days to my goal weight.  This is a little less than 2 pound per week, on average.  248 days sounds beyond daunting.  So, I decided to break it down into 4 phases of 62 days each.  My Facebook friends have been so supportive of my daily status reports, but I want a place to tell more that what I did, ate and how I felt each day.  I want to share the journey.

Here I go!

Categories: Status Updates | Tags: , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Pain to Change…

  1. Ashley Foster

    Share your journey! I’m excited and know I will be encouraged. Wish you were here to be a running buddy.

    • Aw, I miss running with you! I miss hanging out with you and your whole lovely family! You always kicked my butt just enough… 🙂 Thanks for sparking my love of running again…

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

On Up The Road

The Journey Is Not Optional

