Family as Priority

I could not bring myself to post about my life and my weight loss progress these last few days. Friday was my weigh in day.  I lost the 0.8 pounds from the prior weigh in.  I was happy and it was a productive day for me.  I ran errands, bought groceries and had a great lunch with my son.  Since I evidently live in a bubble full of toddler activities, I was unaware of the tragedy at Sandy Hook Elementary until after my son’s nap.  When I finally checked, my Facebook was flooded with people sharing news, sorrow, and prayers.  I joined in the sorrow and the prayers.  I turned off my television, closed my computer and dove into some serious playtime with my son.

Keeping with the theme of personal health, weight loss and general betterment, I must share that the recent tragedy did not stop me from doing my workouts.  Quite the contrary.  I’ve been jolted to do better.  There are no guaranteed tomorrows.  I can not delay or put this off any longer.  I am blessed with a full participation baby (some might call him a high-need child). As he becomes more and more active, I want to continue to fully participate.  That means that losing the weight, regaining my fitness and staying on top of my food choices are a must.  I’m not doing this for vain reasons.  As much as I would love to wear a size 6 or feel comfortable in a swimsuit, those are not my motivation.  My family is. I know that I must take care of myself in order to be there, be present and be my personal best every day.

 

Categories: Daily Life, Family Life, Status Updates | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

On Up The Road

The Journey Is Not Optional

